Spotted a Jungle Carbine Enfield fi someone is interested!?

I stopped by Riley's in Hookset, NH this afternoon to mill around the "toy store" as I like to do when I can kill some time instead of lunch and am in the area.

Anyways I spotted a really nice Enfield #5 Mk 1 Jungle Carbine in .303 for $395. I looked it over and as best I could figure out it is an original...1947 dated, hollow bolt handle. It does appear that someone lightly sanded the stock but everything else looks good...didn't have a light to check the bore.

I just thought I'd mention it if anyone was in the market. Sounds like a steal to me...if I wasn't saving for something else I'd grab it.

Carguy
What do you look for to determine originality? I'm not an Enfield expert, so I've stayed away from the Number 5's because I assumed most were remakes.

Check out the Enfield forums on Gunboards or something similar for detailed descriptions, but essentially you are looking for the lightening cuts on the side, the aforementioned hollow bolt, and the correct stampings on the left side of the receiver. I don't know of any copies that have all of those features, mostly they just stick a shortened barrel and flash hider on a #4 Mk 1 along with the #5 buttstock and call it good. Hope that helps.

Here is a pretty good resource for the Jungle Carbine. http://www.angelfire.com/vt/milsurp/no5.html

The bolt handle hole seems to be the easiest and most commonly faked part on remakes. I'm not an expert, but I have a real Jungle Carbine so I know what a real one looks like.

The real ones have the receiver lightened with a lot of cuts. Some of them are under the furniture, so a detailed inspection is required.

I have a Santa Fe fake, I got it dirt cheap and its my only enfield. If it helps included is a few pics of mine, which is shot out unfortunately. This is the only gun I own that I have never shot.
A few pics of the gun.

101_0079-1.jpg

101_0080.jpg

And a marking pic.

101_0084.jpg