Shield holster advise

Cluster F

USMC Veteran
NES Member
Hey guys I am not a new firearm owner but I am new to carry. I recently picked up a Shield and the kydex holster I have isn't that comfortable. It digs in and has no shield for the body and could feel it digging into my side. I was thinking of a crossbreed because it seems the leather would shield from that. Any advise would be good.

What kind of holster? Cheap holsters just suck, if its a quality holster you may get it to work for you, see below

Do you have a proper gun belt? A stuff belt made for carrying a gun will support even a cheap holster well, while a standard flimsy belt wont properly support even the best made holster.

Where on your body are you wearing it? Most prefer strong side, just behind the hip, 4 o'clock. Appendix carry works better for others, 2-3 o'clock. Experiment with different positions.

Are you wearing a shirt under the holster? Obviously acts as a liner between skin and holster. You could also try adding some moleskin (found at CVS/Walgreens)

If that fails, then try another holster. Like guns, a particular holster may be great for one person, but may not work at all for another.

I was looking at the mini tuck. And yes I've tried a couple different places to orient it but it doesn't have adjustable can't. And I hate wearing undershirts so the whole too half if the slide just rubs on me. I was liking the crossbreed because the leather shielding. My belt is pretty ridgid to. Thanks for the advice.

You can raise/lower the individual belt clips on the mini tuck to adjust the cant.

I'm just gonna leave this here...

th

Check out the ac1 from sentinel holsters. He uses a thin kydex . It feels like you are just wearing a gun with no holster. Personally I don't see the need for the extra support provided by the crossbreed style holsters when you CCW small frame guns. The crossbreed style shines with full size, heavier guns by displacing the weight. Just my 2 cents........