Ranges in NH

So my buddy and I are planning on heading up to New England drag way this weekend and I was curious if non residents of NH would have any issues at a NH range. We were planning on stopping by the range either after or before we ran our truck on the track....Also how difficult is it to buy ammo up there if you are a non resident? I am a rhode island resident and my buddy is a mass resident. My buddy has his LTC and I have a Rhode Island Blue Card

No problems in free states (like NH) for buying ammo, or renting guns, or shooting at ranges, etc. Some places like WalMart and MFL might "card" you for your home state permit, but that's the exception rather than the rule, and those are driven by store policy and not law.

In most of the US you do not need to ask the government permission to have an unloaded gun in your car or go shooting at the range with it, or to buy ammo. Places like MA and RI are anomalies to the norm.

-Mike

Last edited:
So we should be good if we brought our firearms up to NH and wanted to stock up on ammo and stop by the range and get a couple rounds off?

The only potential problem I see from what you said is finding a public range in NH, unless you're talking about MFL or their other facility (can't recall where it is). I know of no true public ranges off the top of my head, but there may be some. That being said, if you're hooking up with someone as a guest at their club, you're good to go as far as the law is concerned.

So we should be good if we brought our firearms up to NH and wanted to stock up on ammo and stop by the range and get a couple rounds off?

Yes. As ScottS states though, there really aren't a lot of "walk on, pay, shoot" ranges in NH. MFL is the only one I know of, unless you have other arrangements.