• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question for peolpe in CT

I was looking at the flyer from Century and they said that they don't sell C&R pistols to C&R holders in CT. Are you not supose to sell C&R pistols to C&R holders in CT. I just got my 01FFL in CT and want to make sure that I'm folowing the laws. I live in MA and know the laws pretty good here but CT I'm still learning. If anyone has some info it would be a big help. Thanks

Please check this out and do NOT take my word for it, as I really know nothing about CT law.

I had a Microsoft conference in NYC a couple of years ago and Hoffman's in CT had AR15 frames for a good price, so I had planned on stopping there on the way back home to pick one up.

I called first to make sure that they had them in stock. What I learned was the following:

- If you have no CT CCW, there is a 2 week waiting period. I would have had to drive back there 2 weeks later to pick it up. No thanks, not worth it.

- When I'm told this sort of stuff, I ask "what if" I find a C&R in their shop since I have a C&R FFL. I was told that even with a C&R FFL, unless I had a CT CCW, I face a 2 week waiting period for ANY transaction (pistol or rifle).

So, extrapolating the above and merging it with your question . . . I guess that nobody can ship a C&R gun to a CT resident (even with a C&R FFL) because they can't (or not allowed to) verify a CT CCW and no mechanism in place for invoking 2 week waiting periods.

Sounds a lot like MA, doesn't it?

Bottom line, I didn't bother stopping at Hoffman's and will probably never attend another CT gun show either.

If you have a hunting licence you can get around the two week waiting period.

I wrote to the AG about C&R pistols and wanted to know what the issue was, after several emails, they mail me the CT laws regarding handguns, the same thing that comes with my C&R license.