Question about USPSA matches from a total beginner

I'm completely new with USPSA matches, and this coming Sunday is one of the few monthly matches at Harvard that I can make. What do I need to do? Is there a registration beforehand or do I just go there and do it there on Sunday? How much ammo do I need to bring? What else should I bring?

There are more experts and regulars than I but what are you shooting? If Production- make sure you have at least 4 belt mag pouches, good holster, gun and at least a couple hundred rounds of ammo. (Eye and ear protection too of course) If you don't have 4 mag pouches you'll just need to keep a couple in your pocket. I plan on attending as well and am looking forward to it. These guys run great matches. No registration needed. I'm sure someone else will post more details.

I've got two double mag pouches and will be using my S&W M&P40.

How many is a "couple hundred"?

How long of a day is it?

I've got two double mag pouches and will be using my S&W M&P40.

How many is a "couple hundred"?

How long of a day is it?

I don't have all the details but each stage is usually 20-30 rounds. Say 25 ave +/-. If they do 6 stages that 150 rounds. If so at least 200 rounds to bring... for extra shots, possible reshoots, etc. I thought I saw I post that the stage may be shorter because they just ran a rifle match last week. Your M&P should be production so we get to compete. [wink]

Production is stock factory guns with very limited mods, trigger job and different sights is about it. you run 10 round mags and are scored minor, so shooting all "A"s is very important

You want to have all your mags full for every stage, you never know when you are going to need them all. So if you have 5 mags 10 rounds year, 6 stage.

Show up at 8:45, walk the stages with some one that is experienced, sign in at 9am, get your gear ready and meet your squad, Tell them you are a new shooter and they will make sure you are well taken care off.