permethrin

lancecolonel

NES Member
i have a bottle of 10% permethrin and was wondering what you guys use for a dilution ratio for hunting clothing? i thought i read 10 parts water to 1 part permethrin but can't seem to find that post.....i want to make a solution that is safe to spray on boots and clothing. thanks in advance.

The commercially available pre-mixed stuff is 0.5%. I mix it a bit stronger to treat my gear but I'm not spraying it directly on myself.

Go 1%, spray it down good and bag it for a few hours to let it soak in. Then air dry, then bag it again for storage until use. The ticks are already out in force.

The ticks are already out in force.

And this year is supposed to be horrible with them. I'm no scientist but I guess the ridiculous amount of snow we got is good for them. [thinking] Little bastards.

I have a can of Sawyer .5% Permethrin I've sprayed on several hunting clothes and I don't remember ever seeing a tick on me after using it. I guess when they (the tick) contact the clothing, they just die and fall off quickly. KILL THEM ALL, I say.

FYI the military spec is for (1) 0.3oz bottle of 40% Permethrin added to 15oz of water which is 0.8% final concentration. The claim is it's good for 50 washings, but I have my doubts about that. I treat my dedicated hiking and hunting stuff once a year.

Starting page 26, instructions a little further in.
http://www.afpmb.org/sites/default/files/pubs/techguides/tg36.pdf

Permethrin definitely lasts through multiple washings. It binds to everything but rubber or plastic, but will eventually degrade or wash away, somewhat faster with UV exposure.