Patriotic Special Event: 13 Colonies

cockpitbob

NES Member
Runs 5 days: 7/1 - 7/5
Special event stations in each of the 13 colonies. Any band & mode including satellites.
The certificate is very cool: Dadsden flag. Says "Freedom is not free". I want one, and you only have to hit 1 colonie to qualify, but they are $4.
13Colony2011Cert.jpg

http://www.13colonies.info/

I'm very new to special events, so I think I'll make this a learning experience and try for the clean sweep endorsment (all 13). Besides, the cert will be good wallpaper for the shack.

I've hit 2 states so far and found but couldn't break into a 3rd. They were all on 40M.

This is actually the first time using my HF rig (FT-857 W/tuner and 100' long wire up 50') and I'm learning a lot. I'm down in a hole and and I'm not being heard very well. My best report was 57. I'm already starting to think about stringing a couple of dipoles.

This is very cool. I'm going to try to make a few Q's tonight and maybe over the weekend in-between cookouts, etc.
How are they calling CQ ("CQ 13 Colonies")?

W1NJC

The 3 stations I found this a.m. (all on 40M) were in the middle of mild pile-ups, but "13 Colonies" and their 1X1 calls starting with "K2_" were prominent in their operation. They were a little conversational (not stepping through the callers quickly) and they all were wishing people a happy 4th of July. The overall tone was nicely patriotic.

Good luck.
Bob ab1lt

My 12YO son and I are making this a competition. We are tied up at 7 colonies each. Of course, I have the advantage and stayed up until 12:30 last night while he slept.

I'm at 6. Picked up 4 more tonight amid some nasty pileups. I'm just running 100W on a multiband trap dipole. Mostly 40 and some 20m.
Just picked up K2E in DE as I'm writing this so it looks like all three of us are tied up now!

Looking forward to that certificate!