non resident

In january I will be moving to new hampshire to go to school. I will live on campus and i know that firearms are not allowed on campus so i plan on keeping mine in a storage unit untill i can get a place of my own. Untill I am a resident is there any way I can buy a handgun? If i read correctly they do issue non resident ltc's. Does anyone know if a non-resident buying a handgun is possible and how to do it? Thanks.

Walk into the gun store, pick out your gun, show your NH driver's license, wait about 5 minutes for the check (it isn't really instant), pay and walk out with your new toy.

You need a DL for the state you are a resident in, and can only have one. Then if you want to carry as a resident of NH then you go to your local PD and fill out application for LTC. But remember if you are a resident of NH unless you have a Non Resident LTC for mass which is $100/year you cant carry in mass. If you put your guns in a storage unit, make sure you have insurance for fire and theft!

What about open carry? I was in North Carolina for a while and while it was a open carry state it was sort of frowned upon.

But remember if you are a resident of NH unless you have a Non Resident LTC for mass which is $100/year you cant carry in mass.

NOT true. He can be a dual resident. While in college he is legally entitled to two Resident LTCs, but a NH LTC is totally irrelevant to buying anything in NH!

NOT true. He can be a dual resident. While in college he is legally entitled to two Resident LTCs, but a NH LTC is totally irrelevant to buying anything in NH!

So how would that work in the in the real world. Just walk into a gun store in NH and say I would like to buy a hand gun. I go to school in NH But I have a MA drivers ?

So how would that work in the in the real world. Just walk into a gun store in NH and say I would like to buy a hand gun. I go to school in NH But I have a MA drivers ?