No problem hitting with 22LR but 40 S&W something else?

From 25 yds, I can usually place 9 of 10 shoots within a 4 in radius but can't even hit the paper with my new 40 S&W semi using a 2 hand position. I then moved to about 20 yds and still missed entire sheet! I'm relatively new to pistol shooting and am looking for some suggestions. I realize it's harder to be accurate with my center fire 40VE but was quite disappointed with poor results after 20 shoots. Any suggestions are most appreciated.

Bill-

The fundamentals are the same whether you are shooting .22 or .500S&W. If you can shoot nice groups with your .22 then there is no reason you can not do the same with a .40 - Barring any problem with the firearm -

I suspect you are anticipating the recoil of the larger caliber and flinching or yanking the trigger or trying to push against the recoil. Concentrate on the sight alignment on the target and squeeze (dont yank or pull) nice and steady. Let the gun go off. Do not try and fight the recoil with your wrists or arms.

You may just need a little trigger time to get accustomed to the bigger recoil and louder noise.

Hope this helps. [smile]

Last edited:
Take a class or get some coaching.

Dry fire a lot. Practice with the barrel about an inch away from a wall (be safe--clear the pistol twice, etc.). As you pull the trigger slowly use the wall as a reference point--the pistol should stay steady and straight.

Add snap caps (plastic blanks) to you mags. When you're shooting and get to the snap cap unexpectedly you'll probably find you're flinching way more than you expect.

Check your grip. With a two hand parallel thumb hold you shouldn't be able to see any of the rear grip. Don't squeeze too hard either.

Last edited: