New Shooter

Looking for some advice here! First I have been a police officer for 20 years, so I obviously know nothing about guns. I am looking to get my 12 year old nephew into shooting. I have his parents blessing and want to buy a handgun that he can use, under HEAVY supervision, at the range with me. I am pretty sure that a .22 would be the way to go, but after that I am lost, Semi v. Revolver; any specific models designed for the novice small framed shooter; OR should I scrap the whole thing and grab a starter rifle... which means I am even more lost... if that could be possible. Thanks in advance and I will take any advice I can get.

Welcome to the forum!

I'd start with an inexpensive .22LR rifle; the Ruger 10/22 is very popular...

The Ruger Mark II or Mark III semiautomatic handguns are also a good way to go for handguns.

... I'm also confident that someone who lives in your area will offer to meet you at a range and let you try something (providing the ammo is always appreciated!).

Welcome aboard!

First I have been a police officer for 20 years, so I obviously know nothing about guns

[laugh2][laugh2] OK that was funny. [laugh]

I'm sure you're going to get tons of advice from members who are WAY more knowledgeable than I am. But I will tell you that I am female and I have very small hands; child size hands actually. Probably the size of your 12 year old nephew's hands.

I have a Walther P22 that fits perfectly and the slide would be really easy to work for a little guy like your nephew.

Also, I recently bought a Ruger 10/22 rifle and that would be small enough for your nephew to handle as well. Both the pistol and the rifle shoot .22lr so very little recoil in the P22 and none at all in the 10/22 rifle.

I think it's great that you're introducing your nephew to shooting. Hope it works out well for both of you.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

I'd start with an inexpensive .22LR rifle; the Ruger 10/22 is very popular...