• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New carry holster: EXCELLENT

Since I wear a suit almost every day, I was considering the purchase of a "tuckable" IWB holster. Since holsters aren't exactly "cheap", I scoured the internet looking for an inexpensive tuckable to try. I figured if I liked it fairly well, then having a custom one made would be the next step.

I stumbled across this model: http://www.desantisholster.com/n91.html, a Desantis ambidextrous model. I figured the versatility would allow me to wear it any way I chose with one holster, including behind the back or cross draw. Since I'm new to carrying the .45 in a suit, this would be a great experiment with little investment.

After wearing it for a day, I really like it and don't plan to look for the "next step" any time soon. Granted, concealing a .45 in a suit isn't easy, but this holster gives you lots of options and is very comfortable to boot.

To top it all off, it only took 1 day to arrive with standard shipping, and they followed my shipping instructions exactly.

I was very impressed with the holster AND the service.

Does it "collapse" when drawn?

Can you re-holster single-handedly?

Does it have an inner tab that covers the safety/hammer area?

Looks like it has promise, but the above questions are important to the practical use of a IWB holster, and they don't usually come cheap.

LenS said:
Does it "collapse" when drawn?

Can you re-holster single-handedly?

Does it have an inner tab that covers the safety/hammer area?

Looks like it has promise, but the above questions are important to the practical use of a IWB holster, and they don't usually come cheap.

It's ballistic nylon, but re-inforced. If my pants aren't too tight, I can reholster it single-handedly.

There is a pad that covers the safety area, but no restraining strap to cover the hammer.