Need info on good 2m radio

Wonder if anyone can help me out here. I am presently studying for my Tech License and will be taking it soon.
Problem I have, well its not really a problem, but. I have a small cabin in the mountains here in central, NH. but dont get cell phone there. Its a walk in cabin about 2000ft down a trail into a valley between two ridge lines.
Thus, the reason I am considering Ham Radio as communications.

Question is. Can anyone recommend a 12V 2 meter radio and antenna? I have a 60-80 ft pine tree next to the cabin I can put an antenna on but dont have a clue what will work best.

I have 12V power down there and need to transmit as far as possible.

Thanks much for any info and help.

OF.

There are tons of options out there, but personally I use the Yaesu FT-2900R.

That being said, go for more than tech (general is pretty easy) because you're probably going to want some HF capabilities. 2m is great, but not the band for transmitting "as far as possible"

As for antennas, if you do stick with just 2m, if you have a specific direction you know you need to transmit in (i.e. You're looking to hit a repeater), a directional antenna such as a Yagi will give you a little more reach, at the expense of omnidirectional coverage.

There are tons of options out there, but personally I use the Yaesu FT-2900R.

That being said, go for more than tech (general is pretty easy) because you're probably going to want some HF capabilities. 2m is great, but not the band for transmitting "as far as possible"

Yes, someone else said that I should try the general test on the same day but I don't know.
I will take a look at the 2900R. I was looking at some radios but there were so many 12V 2m that I got confused. I just want a user friendly one.