My First IDPA

JonJ

NES Member
or any competition for that matter.

Round Gun Shooter, Gary has been trying to get me down to the Bass River Club's IDPA shoot for a long time. He's even offered to meet with me on his off time to show me the ropes. I never took him up on it. Until today. The stars were aligned and I took a vacation day from work to make it.

I have never shot in any competition. I was a bit apprehensive about going. I was regretting never meeting with Gary for that one on one he offered. Why? Well, I didn't want to dent my ego (we all have one whether you admit it or not) and being a cop, I was worried "What would people who know what I do for a living say if I shot like crap?" I bit the bullet. I showed up early and found Gary. There was about 15 other people there and everyone I passed while looking for Gary, greeted me. Once I found Gary, he took me to one of the ranges and we made my pistol safe. He went over the general range and IDPA rules/procedures with me. He then showed me a couple of stages. I was still a little nervous about this but this looked like it could be fun. As more people arrived, I found there were a few other newbies. Gary did another briefing with them and I listened in on this one to make sure I "had" it.

Once everyone was signed in, we were divided into 3 squads. I think there were 7-8 shooters per squad. Gary saw to it that I was squadded with him. We had a couple of other newbies in our squad as well. All the squads then went to a stage. There were 4 stages set up. I won't get into what the stages were but they were not difficult. You did have to think about what you were doing, safety and tactical wise. The atmosphere was laid back, no pressure but very safety conscious.