Mitchell's Mauser. I put a depost on one, but I'm wondering if I made a mistake

Walked into my favorite gun shop in mason nh today and came across a nazi Mauser with all the marking there. I have been wanting a non "peened" nazi Mauser for a while but I don't have the 800+ they seem to go for. It was labeled as a Mitchells Mauser, obviously refinished but with the seemingly original marking ( 1939 date, code 42 and no peening )

I'm a novice, poor collector that likes to have these gun to 1. Shoot 2. I love the history with them ( why I was excited about the 1939 date ) and 3 hopefully to have a ok collection that goes up in value for my kids someday.

The gun is currently in their layaway closet ( as I'm poor and that's the easiest way for my to buy an occasional fun item to put in the safe ( screw credit cards )

Price was $400

Am I an idiot

You got to examine it. No shipping or transfer fees. You like it. You want it. You can pay for it on your terms, and it's not outrageous.

I say, you will have a gun that will shoot, and still be a good heirloom. If you are happy, then all is good.

People complain about Mitchell's Mausers but the bottom line is if your happy then don't worry about it. I have seen a couple and they look super nice compared to my recent purchase.

Walked into my favorite gun shop in mason nh today and came across a nazi Mauser with all the marking there. I have been wanting a non "peened" nazi Mauser for a while but I don't have the 800+ they seem to go for. It was labeled as a Mitchells Mauser, obviously refinished but with the seemingly original marking ( 1939 date, code 42 and no peening )

I'm a novice, poor collector that likes to have these gun to 1. Shoot 2. I love the history with them ( why I was excited about the 1939 date ) and 3 hopefully to have a ok collection that goes up in value for my kids someday.