Mini-kits for survival

Here's my general woodsbumming kit. By no means does it have everything, but it is small enough to go in my pocket, so it goes everywhere I go. It supplements other gear. This is not a 'the plane went down and I gotta survive' kit. It's used when hiking or walking in areas where I'd at most be lost for 72 hours. If I were backpacking, I'd add more.

survivalkit2dc0.jpg

While I'm no expert in survival, I have read a lot, studied and practiced skills.

1. string of 6 split shot sinkers - for fishing
2. balloon - for water transportation. There are better choices but this is compact.
3. two contractor trash bags - many uses, including improvised shelter, windbreak and waterproofing, signaling and water collection
4. baggie to hold kit (since replaced by a waterproof box that is a better cup)
5. 6 number 14 fishing hooks - fishing. emergency-only snaring of small game
6. small rolls of surgical tape - not quite duct tape but for binding and lashing, woun treatment though not sterile
7. 25 feet of 12 pound monofilament fishing line -fishing, binding, emergency-only bird snares
8. 10 feet of 24 gauge steel wire - binding and small game snares. You can improvise cordage in the wild, but it's easier just to pack this
9. compass/thermometer combination - compass is a backup
10. razor blade - small, sharp blade. Note that it is not sterilized
11. fresnel lens - magnifier and solar fire starter
12. rubber bands - keep everything tight
13. 25' nylon string - more cordage, tie downs for my trash-bag shelter, for lashing arrows or making snares
14. 12" square of aluminum foil - signaling, water collection and boiling
15. matches - go to fire starter. if wet or I cannot manage, go to the backups
16. cotton balls - tinder, wound treatment
17. Boy scout hot spark ferro rod & striker - backup fire kit, signaling
18. basic signaling pamphlet - home made reminde
19. whistle - signaling
20. swiss army knife - I always have a knife. Usually two.

Last edited: