Mini 14 Tactical - Mass legal?

Is the Mini 14 Tactical (20/CF) mass legal. I know you can't have 20 cap mag. But what about Pistol grip + Telescoping/folding stock. No flash suppressor.

Can you get a reg Mini 14 and just upgrade the stock to an ATI and not be breaking the law?

Thanks,

PB

Yes I am a rookie. I did try to search forum.

1) You would have to pin the collapsible stock, or get the 20GBCPC with the standard, non-collapsible, straight stock.

2) You can use pre-ban large capacity magazines (>10 rounds), but post-ban large capacity magazines would be a felony.

Thanks for quick response. I don't mean to be a mutton head but how would one "pin the collapsible stock"? No big deal right?

I am loving the look of the ATI stock. I am think I'd buy a Mini 14 and go aftermarket stock. I don't see any internet stocks that are not collapsible (that I like).

Thanks. Great forums all.

~ PB

If it has an unscrewable FH you'll either have to weld and pin a barrel nut over the threads, round the threads off, or weld and pin a brake on it. You'd also have to pin the stock or put a fixed stock on it. The PG is OK.

You can have the 20 round mag if you can find prebans for it and you have an LTC-B or better. Of course, finding preban ruger mags that arent absolute crap is a task unto and of itself. It really kills the viability of the rifle in this state- because most of the prebans you find are trash. Some can be "made to work" with some tinkering.

'Another option is to find a preban mini-14 that had evil features before the ban was passed in 94. Then you don't have to worry about any of this stuff. Course the problem is the older minis are "minute of barn" at 100 yards in terms of accuracy. (hell, the newer ones are probably like that too, with the exception of the target version with the dampener) The guns are often worse than a lot of AK clones.

-Mike

Last edited: