• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

M&P Rust Issue

bob6180

NES Member
Took my shield out of my holster today and gasped at the surface rust on the top and side of the slide all around the front sight. I then found some surface rust on the slide lock as well. Now I don't need my carry gun to be cosmetically perfect but rust is a no-no.
I've only been carrying it a few months and have cleaned / wiped it with CLP.

Wondering if anyone else has had a similar issue?

image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    169.2 KB · Views: 186
Not yet anyway, pocket carry but with nothing else in said pocket. That said i work in a garage so i tend to get oil on my pants once in a while

I had a similar issue with one of the rather well cared for M&Ps that I own. I contacted S&W and they asked me to send them the whole gun. I got bogged down with other life stuff and never sent it to them though. I just cleaned the rust off because it was very light and forgot about it. If it comes back I will probably send it in.

Interesting, the M&P slide is stainless, not that stainless can't rust, but I have not seen this yet. Could the slide have come in contact with acid of some sort? Or vinegar? I know the surface treatment is very hard to remove. What did Smith say familyman15 ?

I know that the pistol hasn't come into contact with anything aside from CLP, the holster, and my sweat. I reached out to Smith myself this morning to see what they say.

No rust, carry it daily in a leather holster and for almost 2 years. Never wipe it down. Handle it every time out to the range too. Damn thing looks new...or close to it. My only issue is the blob of white paint in the front sight fell out, no biggie. Ya got a bogus gun maybe???