LTC reference letter questions

Just completed my firearms safety course (so I'm new to all this). I am getting my application for an Class A LTC at the recommendation of my course instructor.

My town wants 3 letters of recommendation from someone that is unrelated to me and not a member of the PD in my town. I have 3 people (all have known me 20 years) that are willing to do this for me, however two of them have been in trouble in the past.....nothing too serious and it was long ago.

Am I going to run into trouble if I have these people write me a letter? Should I find someone else? Will the PD be doing background checks on my references.

Thanks for your help.

Jay

Welcome to the the board Jay! If you reread your post and give it some thought I think you might find the answer yourself. [wink]

Just so you know, there is no authority for the PD to demand "letters of reference," still less 3 of them from people it deems worthy.

The statutorily-required and state issued-issued application form is the F 25/26. It requires NO letters and only 2 references.

Note also that there is a a sticky on this board regarding the preparation of LTC applications. You might want to review it.

Yes that sticky was very helpful Scrivener...thanks.

I don't have a problem providing them the letters even if I am just jumping through hoops. I don't think its wise to start quoting the law to my local PD. ..they're generally good guys. Getting a couple reference letters does not seem like an unreasonable request.

These days information is easily available I would think that it would not be much trouble for the licensing officer to run my background and my references. Common sense tells me that using someone as a reference that had a troubled youth but that is currently a good citizen would be a suitable reference. However being new and knowing that common sense does not always apply to firearms law I wanted some advice to be sure.