Lee / Red Dot question

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to the wonderful world of reloading and I have a question: :)

The paper that came with my Lee Pro 1000 said that autodisk slot 43 should dispense 3 grains of Alliant Red Dot. (It may have been 3.1 grains I don't recall exactly.) It also said that it could vary and you need to double check.

I tested the press with the Alliant Red dot using slot 43 and according to my scale it weighed 2.7 grains. I tried slot 45 and it weighed 3.0 grains.

Is this discrepancy something to be concerned about? Should I call lee and ask them about it? Could Alliant have changed their Red Dot powder?

Thanks.

I had previously reported this issue with the LEE.
I had contacted John Lee, and his response was that they are right, and everyone else is wrong. HUH? The impression that I got was that the Lee Pro 1000 is about the bottom of their profit margin (retailing for $140.), and that caveat emptor ( for those in East Boston, it means "Buyer beware")should prevail.

Here's what is important, noelephant...........
Make sure you put the right WEIGHT in the case.
I'll repeat that for the sake of clarity: Don't go by volume, go by weight.

So, choose whatever WEIGHT of Red Dot you need, and select a disk hole that gives you a weighed result that matches.

NEVER EVER just PRESUME that any Lee chart is accurate.

BTW, I bumped into this when their chart gave me a COMPRESSED LOAD result when none was expected. The weight was off, and the volume was off. Lee didn't care, and wasn't going to reprint all the charts.

Everything stated above by Duke, and make sure you check your information against at least 2 other sources. I prefer to err on the side of caution and own 6 currentreloading books, plus I check loads at the powder manufacturer, the bullet manufacturer, and a few other online resources as well.