Is this too much bell?

Over the weekend I put my Dillon 550b together and today I started playing with the dies. I think that for the most part all the dies are set correctly but I am not sure about the powder die as far as case belling is concerned. Please take a look at the attached photo and tell me if either one of the two casings sport an acceptable bell. Both passed the gage test once the bullet was set and everything crimped.

Thanks!

bell.gif

That's too much. So much cold working will lead to case splits at the mouth. You only need enough so that you don't shave metal off your bullets when you seat them.

Yep- too much. I use plated with is easier to shave off than most FMJ and I do a lot less than that. Here's what I do.. bell just enough so the bullet can just sit inside the case. It doesn't need to go in much at all.

+1 on too much. Bell it just enough that you can place a bullet on top without fiddling with it for more than a second. The bullet doesn't have to be perfectly square when you set it on, the die will straighten it out when you work the press.

Yes to all of the above, if you can see it then it's probably to much, you just want to be able to set the bullet in like c444 says.

Over the weekend I put my Dillon 550b together and today I started playing with the dies. I think that for the most part all the dies are set correctly but I am not sure about the powder die as far as case belling is concerned. Please take a look at the attached photo and tell me if either one of the two casings sport an acceptable bell. Both passed the gage test once the bullet was set and everything crimped.

Thanks!

View attachment 3737