• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Inland M1 Carbine

Looking for some info on a purchase. I've been looking for a Carbine for a while, including a failed attempt through the CMP during the recent release. I have an opportunity to purchase this rifle and if it's what I think it is I want to snatch it up, but I'm not an expert on the M1 Carbine. It is an Inland and it looks to be in real good shape. The serial number is 4966503. I can get it for $840.00, just looking for a thumbs up or down from you guys. I was told that someone that knows a lot about these went through it and it is all original. Thanks

2.jpg 1.jpg 3.jpg

It's not "original." It wears a M2 potbelly stock, has the adjustable rear sight, and has a bayonet lug. Typical refurbished carbine. If in decent condition inside, $840 is around average price now-a-days.

Serial number 4.9M is January, 1944.

T

Last edited:
It's not "original." It wears a M2 potbelly stock, has the adjustable rear sight, and has a bayonet lug. Typical refurbished carbine. If in decent condition inside, $840 is around average price now-a-days.

T
Tough choice now. I haven't been able to find one for under $1,200 and am almost ready to buy a reproduction

To my eye that looks nice, but I'm not an M1 expert by any means at all. The stock looks like maybe a replacement, no dings or stampings that I can see on it. My stock has feint maker marks, inspection marks, the serial no, and a rack number on it plus hundreds of dings and gouges. The price seems crazy but I'm not up to speed on todays pricing. I bought mine in 1981 for $100.

M1s are great fun to shoot, light and no recoil. I stopped shooting mine when the left over cheap WW2-Vietnam surplus ammo was no longer available. It used to be almost as cheap to shoot as .22 rimefires and cheap ammo was sold in big bags by weight.