Fishing License Question

Can 2 people fish with 1 rod and 1 license? My wife would like to fish with me but not enough to pay for another license or by a 2nd set of equipment, we also don't have the money for that.

Is it legal for her to cast and hold the rod without a license and maybe even haul in a fish? I would think it shouldn't matter as long as we didn't exceed the daily creel limit between the 2 of us, but if fishing regulations in this state are anything like firearms regulations I'm sure nothing is logical.

I'm not a fish lawyer but I'd say no. The licenses are issued to an individual with that individual's name. Just my thought on it.
But, for a definitive answer you may want to call the Dept. of Fish and Game at (508) 389-6300. Very knowledgeable and honest folks every time I deal with them, which is quite often.
You could dig into the masswildlife website but it would probably be easier just to call.
Good luck.

Is it legal for her to cast and hold the rod without a license and maybe even haul in a fish? I would think it shouldn't matter as long as we didn't exceed the daily creel limit between the 2 of us, but if fishing regulations in this state are anything like firearms regulations I'm sure nothing is logical.

What you are describing is not fishing. Engaging in those activities, without the proper license, is commonly called poaching. There is an age limit for kids, where they don't need a license. I hope your wife is older than that.[smile]
Seriously though. If she is holding and working the fishing rod she is "Fishing" and needs a license. Substitute a hunting situation where you are both sharing 1 shotgun, Do you think the Game Warden will let it pass if your total bird count between you is under your single bag limit and he has witnessed her shooting one of them?

Every year there is a free fishing weekend where no license is required. This year it is June 6 & 7. She can fish without a license on that weekend.