Entry Level Bowhunting Package

Im looking to try bowhunting this year, and have no idea where to start. Im looking for suggestions on what I might be able to get for $500 or less ready to hunt. I know Ill be going to an archery shop when I actually have cash in hand to do it, but for now Im just trying to do research on what I should be looking at.

I'd go to a pro shop if I were you, just to be sized up (draw length) for a bow with a release on. I bought a bow tech tom kat which was made in 2007 for $450 off of ebay. I've shot the new bows at some of the local shops and really loved most of them but, I wasn't willing to spend $1,500 on a bow if I wasn't going to like shooting it. I could use that money on something that goes bang [mg]. I've been shooting for a few months now and I love it. I went turkey hunting with it this year and got my 2nd bird with it, and I've also shot a Robbin Hood @25 yards. Also the 3d shoots are pretty cool too.

You can get 1/2 dozen carbon arrows for about 40-50$. Release goes for about 30$ and you'll need a quiver to hold your arrows in. This is assuming you already have sights and a rest for the bow. If you can pull 60-70lbs bow with a 65% let off you can kill anything from a turkey to black bear to an ellk. Newer bows have up 85-90% let off I think. The pull weight is the amount of force it takes to pull the string back and the let off is when the weight get's easier to pull and hold it for a minute or two. I forgot to mention to get a compound bow.

Last edited:
Bear archery has the Bear Strike ready to hunt package
foe 499.00. Not a bad bow, quiet but it does lack the speed
of other bows. Then arrows and a release,another hondo.
If you live in the south shore try The Outdoor Sportsmen in Hanson.

Last edited:
Go to a Pro shop. Not Dick's or KTP or similar. Do not order off the net until you know what you want.
PS-Going Friday night? Let me know, I still have your knife!