Dutch Beaumont Project (long)

The Goose

NES Member
Well, here is another of my oddball projects that is probably of little interest to all but a few demented souls.. Several years back I met a guy at the range who was shooting an old Dutch Beaumont rifle and he let me try it, I thought it was cool. He had to make his own brass and was casting his own bullets, but he made it work. I thought that if I ever had the chance I would pick one up. However, each time I found one in decent condition they ranged from $600 - $1,200. In early July of this year I found one for $150, but it was pretty much being sold as a wall hanger. It was all rusted and dirty and nasty. Upon inspection and to my surprise the bore was in very good to excellent condition so I bought it. When I got home I started playing around with cleaning it up. I hate mucking around with the finish on old rifles, but this sucker was all rusty. Also these rifles were originally left in the white so there was no bluing or browning involved. I started with a little rubbing with a Lead Away cloth and with great effort a small area looked pretty good, of course now I had no choice, but to proceed. I wish I had taken a before picture. A LOT of time with a combo of Flitz and a Dremel polishing kit and I had it looking pretty good for a rusty rifle from 1876. I left the stock alone. I had wanted a shooter more then a collector’s item and was satisfied with the results.

Beaumont004.jpg

Beaumont005.jpg

Beaumont006.jpg

Beaumont007.jpg