Duracoat

NFD9

NES Member
Has anyone used Duracoat and if so how well did it work?
I am looking to coat a couple of AR-15 forearm parts flat black and am wondering what the best do it yourself finish would be. [thinking]
TIA
Gary

What type of parts (metal, plastic)?

I've never used DuraCoat before only because of the long cure time.

Everything I've read from people who have used it give it very good reviews.

It's not a bake-on finish so you can apply it to various surfaces.

A few of the other cons is that you'll need some sort of spraying equipment like an airbrush. You'll also have to properly prep the surfaces. This usually means sandblasting, parkerizing and degreasing.

I've used GunKote several times with excellent results, but it's a bake-on finish and I also had to sandblast and parkerize the parts first.

If you're only doing a few small parts, you might be better off using Brownells
AlumaHyde. It comes in a spary can, isn't that expensive and doesn't require
any baking.

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/ns/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=1117&title=ALUMA-HYDE~+II

I can't speak for Duracoat but I've used Norrell's Moly Resin several times with great results. It's a spray & bake type finish so plastic parts are a no-go. (He makes an air-dry formula for heat sensitive components, but I've never used it)

From what I've heard from people that have used both, the Moly Resin is easier to apply consistantly. I use a small siphon feed badger airbrush and it gives plenty of control over the spray pattern to get a nice thin, uniform coat. With pre-heated parts, it's almost impossible to get a run or sag as the stuff dries almost on contact. The flat SOCOM black comes out a really dark charcoal black... like a new chalkboard.