Distance question

Hi All,

I am a total newbie, having my Tech exam tomorrow, and I have been listening to the W1FY Framingham repeater on my Baofeng UV-5R HT. No license yet, so no TX from me :) but here's the question. I can hear the repeater loud and clear, but wondering if I will be able to reach it from a 5W handheld? It's 2.1 miles away. Not sure if there is a line of sight with the repeater antenna, I can't see it from where I am :) TX from inside the house is probably out of the question...

Anyone with a 5W handheld care to chime in with their experience?

Thanks!

Distance

Hi All,

I am a total newbie, having my Tech exam tomorrow, and I have been listening to the W1FY Framingham repeater on my Baofeng UV-5R HT. No license yet, so no TX from me :) but here's the question. I can hear the repeater loud and clear, but wondering if I will be able to reach it from a 5W handheld? It's 2.1 miles away. Not sure if there is a line of sight with the repeater antenna, I can't see it from where I am :) TX from inside the house is probably out of the question...

Anyone with a 5W handheld care to chime in with their experience?

Thanks!

Yes, you will be able to reach repeater.
Where I live repeater covers 50 miles and I can reach with my 5 watt HT on 2meters
K1RQS

Back when I lived in Grafton, I used to easily hit the '97 repeater in Paxton, about 13 miles away, with a 5W handheld. It's all about antenna, though. Back then, I was using a 1/4-wave ground plane mounted up in the attic and it served me well. You can easily make one with 5 19.1-inch pieces of wire soldered onto an SO-239 and cable. There are plans for one of these all over the internet.

Lol, solder is out of my reach for the moment :) I ordered a couple of highly praised Nagoya VHF/UHF antennas, one is manageable portable 8in and the other one is 15.6. They say it works wonders for 2m