Digital Powder Dispenser?

NES Member
I'm thinking about picking up a single stage press for my loads that I would like to tighten up my tolerances on. Does anyone here use a Digital Powder Dispenser and do you like it? I'd be using my Cabela's points to buy it, so I am more interested in quality then price.

I am thinking about either the;

1. RCBS ChargeMaster Combo $299.99
  2. Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge Powder Dispenser $199.99
  3. Lyman 1200 DPS 3 Digital Powder System $219.99

I have a new Rcbs Chargemaster and I really like it. +/-.1 grain on IMR 4064 makes me happy. Easy to use and memory/counting features are nice.

If you know 4064, you know it's a tough one to meter.

Last edited:
I have the Hornady unit. I have used the RCBS unit also. Dollar for dollar, I would take the Hornady dispenser. No problems with mine, and its dead nuts accurate.

I just went through the same process (selecting a charging scale). I talked to a bunch of people, borrowed a few to try, and ended up buying the RCBS Chargemaster. In fact, it should be here today.

I tested the Lyman and the Hornady, and neither would throw coarse stick powders well, which is what I want to use it for. All of them worked fine with ball, flake, and short stick powders, but so do my other powder measures.

The Omega looks interesting.

Last edited:
I got the RCBS Chargemaster yesterday and just loaded 50 rounds with it. I like it a lot. It was fast - it takes about 5-8 seconds to dispense 24.2 grains of stick powder. It never overshot the weight in the 100 or so times I used it, and was right on the money every time (I cross checked the charge weight with my PACT scale).

I'm going to give it a big thumbs-up.