Chronograph results from ladder run and SD

HarryPottar

NES Member
Hi,

Once again, newbie getting into reloading.

Got my Dillon all set up with 9mm, finally today I got the chance to shoot my ladder loads with the Chronograph. Unsure about the SD (Sectional Density) readings.

I'm just starting out so I'm not trying to load match quality ammo just yet, looking at loading target ammo.

I first shot some retail 9mm perfecta this averaged 945.2 fps with an SD of 42.5

I then ran my ladder loads and saw averages of 951.7 to 998.3 fps, so happy with that data.

However the heavier the grains the lighter the SD was, the highest I saw was SD: 21.4 the lowest was SD: 11.00 at the max load of 43 grains.

All rounds ran flawlessly but unsure why I got a low SD, even more unsure what it means and should I worry.

Using Titegroup powder, and coper coated 115gr round nose bullets.

thanks

harry

Are you talking about Standard deviation?

The lower the standard deviation, the closer all your rounds were to a common number. It really can be a misleading item to track because what really matters is:

1) accuracy - what are you group sizes for each?
2) pressure signs - are you seeing any?

Also you posted 43grains when what I'm pretty sure you mean is 4.3gr, which is NOT a max load for 115gr Titegroup. Right on the bottle it says 4.8gr for a 115gr 9mm round.

As Xtry already stated, track what matters: point of aim to point of impact. Velocity is going to vary based on so many independent factors that it will drive you crazy. This is why shooters who reload for a specific power factor always give themselves a margin for error. Focus on what really matters.

Oh, and why 115gr? Those velocities are very slow for 115. My 147gr loads are at those velocities.

Last edited:
Thanks for the feed back, I'm new so I'm learning as I go.