• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

"Can I see your permit?"

Says the guy in the Gun Library at Cabela's, as I ask to see a vintage 1911.
I told him "Sure, but that's not required...". He then says they are supposed to do that and that the guys at Hoffman's do it every so often... I don't buy it!

Who the heck is directing this guy to check people for permits? What if I didn't have a permit He'd still have to show me the gun... I don't see everyone whipping out permits out in the main gun area.

But whatever, even the "gun guys" are giving the gun guys a hard time I guess.

It depends on the store policy. I've been carded many times if I'm new to a store. After a few visits, it becomes a non-issue. Don't sweat the small stuff, its SOP for some stores.

Says the guy in the Gun Library at Cabela's, as I ask to see a vintage 1911.
I told him "Sure, but that's not required...". He then says they are supposed to do that and that the guys at Hoffman's do it every so often... I don't buy it!

Who the heck is directing this guy to check people for permits? What if I didn't have a permit He'd still have to show me the gun... I don't see everyone whipping out permits out in the main gun area.

But whatever, even the "gun guys" are giving the gun guys a hard time I guess.

if you live in MA or similar state, it MAY be state law as some type of "permit" is required..... vs. other states (i.e. NH) will ask for ID / Drivers License... well, if you whip out a MA DL, they will immediately ask for your MA LTC / FID.... -that has been my experience....

Interesting... Hasn't happened to me, ever.
What if you don't have a permit, you can't handle the fiirearm? That wouldn't go over too well.
No sweat though. I'm a proud permit holder.

You learn something new every day. I just learned something new!

Last edited: