• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

C&R in NH buying from MA

Finally got my C&R last month. I'm a NH resident.
Am I allowed to buy a C&R from a MA resident who holds an LTC? Are there any concerns as far as the FA10 goes on their end?
Thanks.

I think they would have to do a PAPER FA10 with you as the buyer and your 03FFL number in the license space. They Electronic FA10's don't work for out of state sales to FFL's either 01 or 03

Wow.

My head is exploding.

If the firearm has been registered in MA, I guess the current owner would need to file so as to get it off their list.
But finding a PAPER FA10 ? Ok, Good Luck. I've asked and no local PD ever had one.

If I were selling a C&R to NH, I'd file an Electronic FA10, record the sale in my C&R Log, and be done with it. But my C&R's are registered in MA.

If the firearm has NOT been registered in MA, it SHOULD have been. The current Owner should register it now.

Then transfer it to the NH Resident, who should just do whatever you guys are required to do - IMHO.

MOST CRITICAL: If the C&R Firearm is in the Owner's C&R LOG - it SHOULD be - record the sale THERE. The ATF C&R requirements are easy to follow. Don't get into trouble there.

AND: The NH C&R must record the purchase in their C&R Log.

Honestly, I'm confident my C&R advice is legit. But STATE LAW ? I don't know the real answer. Your local Gun Shop does not know. Your local Police Chief does not know.

Last edited:
MA dude can just mail it to you. You're not under any obligation to do anything. MA guy doesn't need to file paperwork because FA10 would be meaningless in this case, 'cuz he's selling to an FFL.

Don't make it more complicated than it needs to be.

Am I allowed to buy a C&R from a MA resident who holds an LTC? Are there any concerns as far as the FA10 goes on their end?
Thanks.