bullseye .22Ruger Mark III or S&W Model .22

I might try bullseye competition for some fun. If nothing else I'll use it for plinking.

Seems like everyone is shooting the Mark III. Is the S&W worth considering, or should I just go with the Riguer?

I'm not going to spend the $$$ for S&W 41, I'm sure the Ruger is far more accurate than I am. Just considering the S&W 22 since it's about the same price as a used Ruger.

Thanks for any feedback.

If you're referring to the 22a, there's only one that's MA compliant now. That's the one with the wood grips and the bull barrel.
You can posess any of the 22a's, but only the one I mentioned above is able to be sold by a dealer.
The Ruger has a reputation for being hard to break down for the first few times.
I've been told both are great.

You can get the ruger mkIII 5.5" bull barrel blued for ~$300 before tax. There are a lot more aftermarket parts like grips & triggers for the ruger. I started shooting in the Nashoba Valley Pistol Leage (NVPL) for Westford and that's what I shoot.

Don't let Becka or Roadblock tell you they're too difficult to break down [wink]

Cool, I'll double check what's in the package as far as magazines, etc. of the 22a new and compare to the Ruger that's available used and will go with the cheaper one.

22A is more of a plinker - I think the Ruger is a better target gun, and it would be many years before you could outshoot it - I'd get the Ruger - If you do get it, make sure you choose the one that has the ability to replace the grips

You see many Rugers on the line at Bullseye matches everywhere - even in the hands of very good shooters who could afford fancier equipment if they wanted to, but very few of the Smiths. Must be a reason.

there are some Smith model 41's on the line, more and more Pardini's

as well as MKIII's. there is a video on youtube regarding disassembly
of the MKIII, its ice cream...

JimB

there are some Smith model 41's on the line, more and more Pardini's