Boston Lockdown, Refused to Let Police in a Home?

I wonder how it would have played out if a Watertown resident, with an LTC issued by that department refused to comply?

Given that it's a notorious "red" community WRT to issuing licenses, there's a good chance that the CLEO (Ed Deveau), would have used his discretion to revoke or deny a LTC upon renewal.

See Godfrey v. Chief of Police of Wellesley

http://www.constitution.org/2ll/bardwell/godfrey_v_chief.txt

The only relief for Mass residents in a situation like that is to get out of the Mass court system and into the Federal system. I'm not a lawyer - but I think that would require challenging that the issuance at the discretion of the chief of police is itself unconstitutional.

I had a lengthy discussion with an officer that was on one of the teams that went door to door. His team searched over 100 hundred houses and did not have one refusal to search. I asked him what were his orders if someone refused and he basically they were ordered to not forcefully enter a house. If they assumed there was a problem then they would surround the house and call it in. What i found shocking is that not one person refused a search.

I had a lengthy discussion with an officer that was on one of the teams that went door to door. His team searched over 100 hundred houses and did not have one refusal to search. I asked him what were his orders if someone refused and he basically they were ordered to not forcefully enter a house. If they assumed there was a problem then they would surround the house and call it in. What i found shocking is that not one person refused a search.

It's easy for people to say they'd refuse a search without a rifle pointed in their face and a cop geared up like a soldier barking at them to get out of the way.