Beginner shooting distance

Total beginner and wondering what distance I should start out shooting at to get comfortable shooting. I am shooting a Ruger Mark III and a S&W .40. I will be mostly shooting the .22 and have been shooting at 50 feet. Should I really have the target much closer then move it back as my groupings get better or should I stay at the 50ft limit? My groupings now are pretty bad and plan on taking a lesson soon.

Total beginner and wondering what distance I should start out shooting at to get comfortable shooting. I am shooting a Ruger Mark III and a S&W .40. I will be mostly shooting the .22 and have been shooting at 50 feet. Should I really have the target much closer then move it back as my groupings get better or should I stay at the 50ft limit? My groupings now are pretty bad and plan on taking a lesson soon.

I would shoot the furthest distance you can that will yield decent grouping. After you train at further distances, when you bring it in closer it'll seem much easier. Better to practice at further and think you're bad then train at close range, think you're better than you are and let bad habits set in. Just my $.02 [smile]

IMHO if all your shots are staying on the paper, you are at the right distance. Having too many off the paper won't help you figure out what's going on.

Formal training will be a big help. Take what they tell you and practice, practice, practice...

i would start at around 7 yards and progress out from there as your grouping gets better. try shooting at paper plates instead of targets as well. It's much better to not have a bullseye when learning.

+1 for seven yards (21 ft.). You should be able to keep all your shots in the black on a standard 50 foot pistol target at 21 feet with your Ruger.