• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Anyone taken a course from Travis Haley before?

I am hoping to get a slot in the D5 Handgun course taught by HSP at Sig this summer. I have a decent amount of rifle/carbine training, but no formal pistol training. That said, I've shot a handful of IDPA and informal 3-gun matches and have taught the basic firearms safety course for the last 5 or so years. I'm no novice to pistol, but I certainly would like some professional training... I figure given his background he could be/would be a valuable instructor. Outside of specialozed courses Im hesitant to spend money on people whos credentials are more limited.

Just curious if anyone has taken a course with HSP and what they thought if it. Everything I have read has been positive and from the videos I have seen I like his teaching style. His resume speaks for itself.

Mike

Sent from my cell phone with a tiny keyboard and large thumbs...

I think Haley definitely has his shit together with pistol, but if you are just looking for pure pistol shooting skills Sig has Steve Gilchrest (one of most underrated instructors in country imo), or Jerry Tetreau if he's still there. Both will give you MORE than enough to work on, for less $ probably... and their resumes are plenty impressive.

Travis is on my list to train with too, I only bring up Steve and Jerry because they are fantastic instructors, always there, and probably save you some money.

I have the fundamentals down. Im looking to be pushed. I am considering the bullets and vehicles class Sig offers. The HSP class is 800 for three 8-9 hour days from everything I read, which is on par with the sig price point.

A friend of mine works for sig and takes the classes for free and speaks very highly of them and the instructors.

Mike

Haley is coming to Sig?