• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Anybody know about Crossbows?

wizdoc2006

NES Member
I recently messed up my shoulder and can no longer hunt with the bow. My doctor is filling out a crossbow application for me. I know nothing about crossbows. For the past 7 years I have hunted archery with a Mathews Outback and loved it , taken a few nice deer with it. Does anyone have any crossbow input? Pros and Cons of treestand hunting with a crossbow. What brands and models are good?

I don't know jack about crossbows, other than I want to get one of these to put on a polymer lower.

[smile]

f859ee512e804f970349bfd90e3d56b0.jpg

I don't know jack about crossbows, other than I want to get one of these to put on a polymer lower.

[smile]

f859ee512e804f970349bfd90e3d56b0.jpg
I did check into the pse tac 15. Pro's: Looks Bad ass fits onto an ar lower, I have a bushmaster xm15 that would do nicely. Cons : the price about $1200. I think 1200 will buy a pretty awesome package. also the upper portion looks a little long. Just my opinion , however I have not seen one in person or gotten any feedback from anyone who ownes one.

Archery shop in Middleboro..... Reedy's. Talk to ther guys there. My brother is going though the same type of issue with his shoulder. He went there and they took good care of him.

Good crossbow isn't cheap.

C

I recently messed up my shoulder and can no longer hunt with the bow. My doctor is filling out a crossbow application for me. I know nothing about crossbows. For the past 7 years I have hunted archery with a Mathews Outback and loved it , taken a few nice deer with it. Does anyone have any crossbow input? Pros and Cons of treestand hunting with a crossbow. What brands and models are good?