• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Another Armalite Armorer's Course?

2ballcane

NES Life Member
NES Member
Last fall with the cooperation of the folks at HSA, I offered a 2 day AR armorer's from Armalite. We need 20 people paid in advance. If interested, PM. Last year the course was run on a not-for-profit basis and the student fee was $275.00. Let's presume the same costs would hold true for this year. If there's enough interest, I'll put the wheels in motion. Target date is early to mid-November.

Id be up for this if I could use somebody else's AR.

I do not own an AR.

I would like to take this class and should be able to get off work.

+'s for Western Mass location.

I have no experience taking apart AR's but if this class would be too hard for my lack of experience, I would like to participate in some way anyway.

Keep us posted.

This course was GREAT and well worth the $275. I would recommend as "stock" and AR as possible to get the most out of the disassembly/reassembly process as possible. We detail stripped the lower, removed the comp, sight tower, gas tube and barrel from the upper - and managed to reassemble it all with no leftover parts.

Thanks all who posted or PM'd. Regrettably the interest shown here and other boards won't support the expense and effort. These events are run as a break-even proposition for me and we have to have 16-20 serious students paid in advance to book flights, hotels, etc., as the instructors come from the factory (Illinois). If something changes, I'll post an update. Perhaps in the Spring. I am sure the economy has some influence and we can only hope things turn around.

Rob thanks for the report and endorsement and you are quite correct in your comments with regard to a basic or stock AR - the diversity of float tubes makes it impractical to support an upper dis-assembly in the confines of this course.