A note on C&Rs and Massachusetts

SKS Ray

NES Member
I'm posting this here since its milsurp related but any moderators that feel it may be of benefit elsewhere please repost.
I placed an order a while back from a well known company that I have ordered from in the past. Today when I got home at lunch there was a message on my answering machine asking me to fax them copies of my Massachusetts FID card and that this was a requiremnet since I lived in Massachusetts.
Now I know I sent copies of my C&R, Class A LTC, and drivers license to all the companies I could find when I first got my C&R a few years ago. I figured extra info for extra security in getting my order sent. But i've found that some companies require you to send them additional copies if you haven't ordered from them in a while, especially now where 2 companies in the past month have requested my FID card info since I am a Massachusetts resident.
Now I have no problems sending them copies, hell, I think it should be included for good measure along with the C&R copy. But you just know its our good ol' pal Tommy putting heat on these folks thats making them take these extra steps. But, I give the companies that are still dealing with us all the credit for not being bullied into stopping selling to Mass residents.
So... just a note for you frequent or ocasional milsurp buyer. Send out your C&R license copies again along with copies of your Massachusetts LTC. That way if you can't get to a fax machine and want to place an order, your not SOL.

If you have the technology, best to scan these documents in, then overlay "File Copy Only" over them and have them ready to Email when/if requested. ONLY the C&R FFL itself has to be Faxed, other docs can be Emailed as an attachment (pdf or jpg) which isn't easy to alter.

Hopefully you won't run into morons that insist on FID when you want to give them a LTC . . . have this happen all the time at Wal-Mart! NH CCW solves that problem for me when I buy there (NH).