• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

A little aggravated

mark095

NES Member
I'm a new graduate of Souter-ricks Home safety and basic pistol instructor course.. (Rick is an Excellent Teacher) Anyways I sent an email to my local range NBRG, to find out how they wanted to be listed on my insurance.. I was informed that the By-law of 1 guest at a time would apply to me.. (NRA Instructor or not) and that the club has taken the view that someone using the club
to teach a class is basicly competing with the club, since the club teaches classes....

Unfortunately you've just learned that many clubs don't want trainers there! They may run a club sponsored class one time/month or perhaps twice a year with 20 students each and they think that is adequate!

Even if you just use the range, it's still competition with the club. Most gun clubs are real "clubs", not businesses run for the benefit of an owner/investor like a country club. Members don't pay their dues, volunteer their work time, etc. to subsidize the overhead of a private business.

But, if you are interested in offering courses on behalf of the club (as a volunteer, with the money after expenses going to the general fund of the club) you may find a welcoming audience. The Hopkinton club has turned down numerous requests by members who want to run their business out of the club, but accepted an offer from a member who wanted to start a club training program - and he runs a regular schedule of intro classes to benefit the club.

Based on what you have said, it sounds like you just assumed you were going to be able to do this without even asking. Did you have any formal requests or meetings with the club board (if one exists) to ask about doing this? I can see how the club may be put off if all you did was ask for insurance information, without any prior meetings.