• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NY State Resident buying in another state (NH)

What can I buy in NH without shipping to an FFL with a NYS drivers license

Can I buy 762 and 223 ammo?

9mm pistol ammo?

Preban Mags for my AR?

If I wanted to buy an FS2000 they would ship it to my FFL in NYS correct? Assuming it only had a 10rd mag.

Are there any rifles that can be bought and not shipped to an FFL in NYS? Can I go up there buy a rifle and walk out the door after background check?

Any help would be appreciated I am new to this and do not quite understand all the ins and outs yet.

Last edited:
It's only handguns that have to be shipped to a FFL in your home state, as I recall. Longarms have to just comply with your home state's laws (AWB, etc).

It's only handguns that have to be shipped to a FFL in your home state, as I recall. Longarms have to just comply with your home state's laws (AWB, etc).

Since NY and NH are not adjacent states, the long arm transfer also needs to take place at a NY FFL.

Check BATF regs, they are very clear on this matter.

Since NY and NH are not adjacent states, the long arm transfer also needs to take place at a NY FFL.

That is not correct. The requirement for adjacency was dropped long ago. You can buy a long gun in any state, provided you obey the laws of both states. This is addressed in the ATF's FAQ, which reads, in part:

(B2) From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA? [Back]

A person may only acquire a firearm within the person’s own State, except that he or she may purchase or otherwise acquire a rifle or shotgun, in person, at a licensee's premises in any State, provided the sale complies with State laws applicable in the State of sale and the State where the purchaser resides. A person may borrow or rent a firearm in any State for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes.