.223 Chrono Results - Acceptable Consistency???

I’m curious as to the chrono results I’ve been getting as I start loading .223 and whether or not the range of velocities I’m seeing is reasonable.

The extreme spread for the two loads I’ve tested (H-335 24.5gr. or 25.0 gr.) is 130 fps and 160 fps respectively. Is this variation within the bounds of what most people see and would the use of mixed brass be enough to account for the range of velocities?

Other facts:

Bullet: 55gr MG FMJBT
Powder: H-335 24.5gr. or 25.0 gr.
Primers: WSR
Brass: Mixed once fired
Press: Dillon 550B w/RCBS x-Size and Lee Factory Crimp

That is about twice what I got from using Win 748, WSR primers and 62 gn SS109 bullets.
I was aiming for 2800 fps and with 24.6 gns of 748 got a 2785-2859 range on a 10 shot string. Again I'm no expert here please be careful when working up loads.

I was using new IMI brass

By itself, extreme spread tells you little. Can you give us the actual sample data?

Can you give us the actual sample data?

Sure

Sample 1 (24.5 gr H-335)

Sample 2 (25.0 gr H-335)

These may be very reasonable results under the circumstance. However, my handgun loads are much more uniform. But I've been doing that longer, use a different press, etc.

Maybe take a look at your powder measure first. You can take that out of the equation completely by hand filling the cases to see if you are getting the same results, but my first stop would be to verify how accurate, and consistent my powder measure was.

It's been a long time since I've loaded for the .223 so I couldn't comment on the velocity spread but using mixed brass can lead to inconsistent velocities.

Respectfully,

jkelly

Analyzing your data give the following information:

Set # 1:
Ave. = 2829.6
SD = 45.2
Max = 2895
Min = 2765
ES = 130
R-squared = 0.9832
Eq: 2748 fps + 16 fps/shot

Set # 2:
Ave = 2859.5
SD = 48.7
Max = 2948
Min = 2788
ES = 160
R-squared = 0.9334
Eq: 2774 fps + 15.6 fps/shot