• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

.223 and Varget

I reloaded some .223 rounds last night. This was the first time I tried using Varget powder. I am using 26 grains, and I find that this nearly fills the cases. I am actually compressing the powder when I seat the bullet. Is this normal? I'm a bit nervous about shooting these, but I suspect I'm OK.

I use far less than that for my 100 yard loads. 20.8gr Varget pushing a 75 grain Hornady BTHP. Get really good results at 100 yards out of a 20" 1/7, but I don't doubt that the velocity is fairly low.

This is my Coyote load, so I'm really looking for high velocity to push my Sierra Blitzkings. I have been using BLC(2), and Tac, but I just love to be different.

I am also using 26.0 grains of Varget behind a 55 grain bullet. I have been using this load for a few years now and found it very accurate. Last weekend I was shooting it out to 600 yards and, with some help from a very experienced spotter, dialed right in on the paper.

Varget is, indeed, a good powder for 5.56, but if you like to experiment, try some Win 748. Meters like water; impossible to detect any load-to-load variations from the powder measure, and gives me the same accuracy as Varget.

My "ordinary" load is 26.0 gr. Win 748, 55 gr. Win. or Hornady bulk FMJBT, mixed military brass, and CCI SR primers. Clocked at 2700-something at 15 feet from 14-1/2" barrel.

When I was shooting a bolt gun in .223 Rem., Win748 was also my powder of choice. It seemed to give me the best groups, although my limited shooting was hardly ultra-scientific.

I am also using 26.0 grains of Varget behind a 55 grain bullet. I have been using this load for a few years now and found it very accurate. Last weekend I was shooting it out to 600 yards and, with some help from a very experienced spotter, dialed right in on the paper.

+1