• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

10.5 inch SBR: Does that include the muzzle brake?

Generally not, as the muzzle device is not permanently attached and thus is not considered part of the length of the barrel.

Generally not, as the muzzle device is not permanently attached and thus is not considered part of the length of the barrel.

Ok, but when you fill out your Form 1, do you need to add the length of your muzzle brake?

I am in Mass, so must if be permanently attached as well?

Ok, but when you fill out your Form 1, do you need to add the length of your muzzle brake?

I am in Mass, so must if be permanently attached as well?

If not permanently attached, the muzzle brake does not need to be included in the length. If permanently attached, it does.

If you're of the opinion that the MA AWB applies to SBRs (IMO it does, but I'm not a lawyer), then you will need to permanently attach the muzzle brake, and thus should include its length.

If you're not sure what muzzle device you're going to use, just guess. When your build is complete, you can send a letter to the ATF notifying of changes to configuration (barrel length, overall length, etc.)

If not permanently attached, the muzzle brake does not need to be included in the length. If permanently attached, it does.

If you're of the opinion that the MA AWB applies to SBRs (IMO it does, but I'm not a lawyer), then you will need to permanently attach the muzzle brake, and thus should include its length.

If you're not sure what muzzle device you're going to use, just guess. When your build is complete, you can send a letter to the ATF notifying of changes to configuration (barrel length, overall length, etc.)

I'm the other side of the coin. I submitted my paperwork for my 10.5 as 10.5. Federal law supersedes in my opinion - which is not offered as legal advice.