• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Winchester model 101

So I've been interested in trying some skeet shooting. I was in my local shop and I came across a winchester model 101. It appears to be a field model, however removal of the hand guard shows the barrels are labeled skeet. I really do not know much about it. It's an over under 12ga. I think it's priced we'll. I'm just looking for anyone's expertise on this. It doesn't appear to be able to accept chokes. Any insight on price or what to look for would be greatly appreciated.

I've seen them around $1000 - $1500 in excellent condition. Those barrels a great for skeet, but patterns will open up too much at trap distances. Not to say you can't shoot trap successfully with it, but it may put you at a slight handicap. I've always liked the model 101, but don't know enough about them, to say what to look for.

I'm new to this shot gun thing, I'm not sure if I want to get something limited to just skeet as I've shot neither. Seems like it's in excellent condition. I'm on the fence but it's priced we'll I may be able to resell it no problem if I prefer trap over skeet.

I'm new to this shot gun thing, I'm not sure if I want to get something limited to just skeet as I've shot neither. Seems like it's in excellent condition. I'm on the fence but it's priced we'll I may be able to resell it no problem if I prefer trap over skeet.

In that case, look for a used Remington 870 "Wingmaster". Pump action and you can change out the barrel very easily to about any configuration you want, from a slug barrel with sights, to a 32" xtra full choke! And every choke and length combination in between from home defense to bird hunting. Remove one screw an pull the barrel off.