• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Screwed Up and Got Lucky

TWtommers

Instructor
NES Member
I'm new to reloading but I had managed to reload about 100 rounds of 9mm successfully so I decided it was time to start using my reloads for IDPA. I got through two mags worth before I had an FTE followed by an FTF. I couldn't get a round to chamber so I took it back to the bench.

It didn't take long before I found I had a squib. Looks like I failed to charge a round with powder! What an ass. Fortunately, the bullet didn't clear enough of the barrel to allow a round to chamber. Saved me from blowing myself up.

I had a squib not too long ago. I think everyone has one eventually only I knew it was a squib when I heard the primer go off and the slide didn't cycle. Every time the gun doesn't cycle I check for a squib. A min or two of shooting time is def better than an exploding gun.

I had four squibs in my first 100 rounds. Th rotor was hanging up and I didn't catch it right away. That was before I had a clue. I will say that the primer is enought to cycle the slide on my 1911 and load another pill into battery.

I either use a lockout die or look into each case, depending on what is being loaded at the moment.

I only use a 3 position lee pro 1000. I had a squip a couple of months ago because the auto powder disk station was sticking because it was gummed up and I didn't know it. So I started resizing/decapping and priming on one run through and then running them through again with a powder drop in the first station, this powder check die in the second http://www.midwayusa.com/Product/536792/rcbs-lock-out-die and sizing in the 3rd.