Reloading with steel (not carbide) dies question

JackO

Instructor
I have some experience loading different pistol calibers on a progressive press . I use Dillon 550B. I never had to really lube the cases as all my dies are carbide. Now I need to start loading 50AE for my Desert Eagle. So I got a set of standard Lee steel dies (believe it or not, carbide dies for 50AE run close to $450 and are a special order item):
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=278508&t=11082005

Is it necessary to wipe out the lube after the sizing / depriming die? If yes, in case of a progressive press it might be a little inconvenient?

Also, what lube would you recommend for lubing these big cases? Is Dillon spray case lube OK? Is RCBS case lube-2 better? How heavily do you lube the cases?

Is it important to remove the lube from the cases in the reloading process or from the finished cartridges after reloading?

Last edited:
I haven't loaded any pistol cartridges with non carbide dies, but for every rifle round I do, I always tumble in dry corn cob media before priming, charging and seating a bullet. Now, I only do rifle on a single stage press, but if I were going to do rifle on a progressive, I would probably consider resizing as a single operation, then tumble, then run the cases through the press without a resizing die in station 1.

That being said, modern lube should be 100% safe to leave on the case thought the reloading process, without harming primers or powder. You could always tumble your finished rounds in corn cob after to get all the lube off the outside.

I would also bet that one of the spray lubes like the Dillon lube would be the easiest to use if you were going to lube the cases and run them progressively.