• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Reloading tonight for the first time

MXD

I just got done making about a dozen dummy rounds with no primer and no powder just to run through the set up and make sure everything looks good. The finished rounds were all between 1.144 and 1.151 OAL (9mm Luger). I have no idea what +/- spec is acceptable but I assume that is pretty good since I checked about 6 or 8 rounds of factory loaded stuff and the tolerance was not that tight.

One thing that has me a bit nervous is the crimp. There is no measurable way to check it. They say its all by eye and by feel but I have no experience so that does me no good. Are there any tricks out there?

Also, I wanted to be just under the max OAL of 1.169 and I plan on starting at the smallest charge listed in my manuals for 115g FMJ bullets. Some of the manuals call for an OAL much shorter than that but for my first time I want to stay close to the max OAL until I get some experience. Is this a bad plan?

I'm a relatively new reloader. I started with 9mm too, and made a TON of mistakes.

Did you try cycling your dummy rounds by hand through your handgun? Might be a good test to see if they work OK. How about using a sizing gauge to see if the fit ok?

In regards to the crimp. Here's is what I did. FYI I am using a Dillong 550B. After seating the bullet I would run my fingers over the flared mouth of the case. I could feel the flare. Then I took that round and put it in the crimping station. I would start turning the die down until it started to touch the round, then a bit more. I would try it and feel how much of the flare was left. I would keep turning the die down a bit at a time until the flare was gone. The rounds I've created work really well in my 9mm handguns.

Good luck!

Rich