Questions about reloading

I've done shotgun reloading my entire life. That's it, though.

What are the benefits of brass? Is it cheaper, or just fun?

Is it something I should try, or would I probably just ruin my firearm?

Martlet - I think it all depends on what you're going for and what caliber you're considering.

I'm handloading match .223 rounds for two reasons; 1) I can load them for about 25% (or less) of the cost of commercial match loads. 2) I can get better accuracy and quality control. Since accuracy is what I need, it makes sense. I don't think it would be worth loading plinking rounds, though.

I can't find it here, but I thought that I had posted (here) a breakdown on costs for reloading pistol.

Yes, you save a lot of money if you shoot a lot (so you can amortize the cost of equipment).

Briefly, when I started shooting in 1976, I picked up a .380 for CCW and nobody reloaded .380 commercially. Cost of factory ammo in 1976 was $7-8/box. I bought bulk for components and my cost to reload .380, .38SP, .357Mag, .45 was in the vicinity of $1.50/box! This was using lead bullets and not counting cost of cases or equipment.

I haven't reloaded pistol in >20 years but have two new presses (Dillon 450B and 650) sitting downstairs waiting for me to do it again. Looks like it will be soon as I'm running low on .40 and .45 since I'm regularly shooting 150-200 rds/week.

Found it, Len:

(From LenS' post)

Back when I started reloading (1976-7), I was doing .380ACP (no commercial reloads were available), .38SP, .357Mag, 9mm and .45ACP. It was costing me no more than $1.50/box to reload vs. $7-8/box for factory ammo. I bought enough components that I still have enough to reload for the distant future (exception being primers).

Here's what I see as the breakdown in current costs (very roughly):
- primers - $0.75/box
- powder - $0.50-1.00/box (pure guess here)
- bullets - $2.00/box for lead, $4.00/box for jacketed (in bulk)