Primer question.

This is my first batch of reloads. I picked up some primers today. I didn't notice until I got home that they are CCI small pistol magnum primers. I am going to be reloading 40S&W with a very light load. Is there a difference in what I need to do with magnums vs standards? The reloading books don't make mention of a recipe adjustment with different primers.

I am new to reloading and asking to stay safe.

Thanks,

What is the "very large difference"?

I'm not recommending, it but I ended up with some mag primers and I was out of SP so I used them in my .40 (fully supported barrel not a Glock!) and I couldn't tell a difference, got no pressure signs, the sky didn't fall down over the range or anything. Again, not recommending it, that was just my experience, and it echoed what I had been told by some very experienced shooters that it wasn't a huge, huge deal. Use your head... and a chrono.

Last edited:
This is my first batch of reloads. I picked up some primers today. I didn't notice until I got home that they are CCI small pistol magnum primers. I am going to be reloading 40S&W with a very light load. Is there a difference in what I need to do with magnums vs standards? The reloading books don't make mention of a recipe adjustment with different primers.

I am new to reloading and asking to stay safe.

Thanks,

Only been doing it for almost a year and when it says SMALL PISTOL you cannot add MAGNUM and be safe. Don't F around with the recipes. You may injure or kill yourself but you will also be putting others in grave danger.

Save the Magnum for a load that calls for it and read the labels more carefully.

Save the Magnum for a load that calls for it and read the labels more carefully.

That's what I am going to do. I have read on a couple other sites that they can be used, but you really need to know what you are doing. Which I obviously don't, but I am learning. They also mentioned them being used in sub-zero temperatures.