newbie here, and potential trade question

seanc

NES Member
Hi all,
Newbie here. Shooting for a long time. Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun and Classiii. I shoot at Hopedale and Harvard, and Trap/ Skeet generally at Riverside.

Took a few years off and am just getting "the bug" again..

So, looking to clean out the safe and trade a bunch of stuff around. I was at one fo the local stores Saturday and saw a nice Beretta 92 compact (for $495 w/ 2 13 rounders).

I have a Sig 239 (40cal) that I just have never taken to.. Think it's worth swapping? Any idea what would be a reasonable trade?

Thanks in advance!
seanc

Trading in a shop is not a good economic move. At best you will get 60 percent of the used value. It's just like throwing money away.
New guns are just like new cars, after one bullet goes out of the muzzle they lose 40 percent of value.

Best bet is a FTF to sale.

I have just always avoided the FTF to avoid the possible legal issues. I have always felt if I go through a dealer, all potenital liability is on the delaer not me..

Maybe this is overly paranoid. I have a bunch of guns that I would like to sell trade. And obviously, i hate to take a bath on them...

I think not trading with total strangers is prudent. I think your best bet is to pay the $19 to join the members area of this forum. Then you can come to the members only shoots and meet a bunch of people to trade with.

Nothing against Carl and the fine folks at 4seasons at all. But, I just dislike consignment for a number of reasons. I have had some rather bad experiences with consignments.

Let me just say that this IS NOT reflective of Four Seasons in any way. And I did have one very good experience with 4S specifically.

I have put guns on consignment at several different shops.