New Hampshire rifle laws (non resident)

Good Morning.

I am a Mass Resident who has a vacation home in Tamworth. If my brother (Fully licensed in Mass) brings a .22 rifle up to the house and leaves it there, do I need any type of permit to go shoot at a range with my son. I want to join the little range over in Tamworth (Bearcamp Valley Sportsman's Club). I see permits for handguns on the website but nothing for rifles.

I dont have any type of license in Mass yet but starting to work on it. Getting my license in Mass is going to take a while so I would love to be able to shoot on vacation this summer.

Thanks for any information.

Short answer: No laws apply, be safe, have fun!

No permit needed (issued) to possess anything in NH. Can't have any loaded long gun in/on any motor vehicle, can't have a loaded handgun in a vehicle or concealed on your person without the "Pistol and Revolver license"; that's the only time you need that license.

Whether you have a MA license is meaningless in regards to New Hampshire laws.

Last edited:
NH does not require a permit to own firearms, the pistol/revolver permit is only so you can carry concealed. The permit also allows you to carry a loaded pistol or revolver in/on a motor vehicle but you cannot have a loaded long arm in/on a vehicle.

What rifle laws? Long as you don't leave it loaded in a motor vehicle you're more or less good to go. Also watch out for offset/setback distance (eg, for discharge etc with back yard shooting ranges) and hunting regs. Done. Possession is free by default for non felons in NH.

-Mike

The bad news is if a NH Resident wants a License to CC, the entire process can take up to a WEEK [crying] !!

And costs upwards of what, like $10 ?

(as a Massole I'm so freakin' jealous)

Thanks for the quick replies. I guess living in Mass my whole life, the idea of just having a gun without permits sounds weird to me.